Posted in Life

2.23.16

Since today is my birthday, I’m going to give myself a goal for this year of my life.  As I work toward completing 46 years on this planet, I’m going to set out to learn as much as I can, try new things and then document them here.  I’ll call this my year of learn, try, write.  Every day I will learn something new.  Every day I will try something new.  Every day I will write about what I got out of the previous day.  It’ll be the most boring thing anyone has ever done, but I don’t care.  I’ve never really been concerned with what other people think of my life.

Today, however, I’m just going to enjoy my birthday with a few random thoughts.

This statement I made earlier, because my friend asked me to remember it for later:  I was born in Wisconsin during an ice storm, so being frigid is my birthright.

This thought:  Would I rather have a sucky kiss from a significant other or a really amazing kiss from a stranger whom I’ll never see again?   Answer:  I’ll take the amazing kiss because life is too short to be kissed poorly.  Plus, I’m not sure I believe in happily ever after, at least not for me.  I’d rather search for something amazing than lose something mediocre, at best.  And this is a longer discussion than I have time for here in this space right now.

This song, because it is 100% me lyrically, and it’s really pretty sounding:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=53GIADHxVzM

It’s not simple to say
That most days I don’t recognize me
That these shoes and this apron
That place and it’s patrons
Have taken more than I gave them
It’s not easy to know
I’m not anything like I used to be
Although it’s true
I was never attention’s sweet center
I still remember that girl

She’s imperfect but she tries
She is good but she lies
She is hard on herself
She is broken and won’t ask for help
She is messy but she’s kind
She is lonely most of the time
She is all of this mixed up
And baked in a beautiful pie
She is gone but she used to be mine

It’s not what I asked for
Sometimes life just slips in through a back door
And carves out a person
And makes you believe it’s all true
And now I’ve got you
And you’re not what I asked for
If I’m honest I know I would give it all back
For a chance to start over
And rewrite an ending or two
For the girl that I knew

Who’ll be reckless just enough
Who’ll get hurt but
Who learns how to toughen up when she’s bruised
And gets used by a man who can’t love
And then she’ll get stuck and be scared
Of the life that’s inside her
Growing stronger each day
‘Til it finally reminds her
To fight just a little
To bring back the fire in her eyes
That’s been gone but it used to be mine

Used to be mine
She is messy but she’s kind
She is lonely most of the time
She is all of this mixed up and baked in a beautiful pie
She is gone but she used to be mine

SARA BAREILLES

 

And this link to what I write for a little entertainment website, in case you’re bored and give a shit what I think about TV.  I write it with my friend, Shawn.  I’m the T, he’s the A.  You figure that out.  http://cinemasentries.com/features/t-a/

That is all.  xo

 

 

Author:

Mom - Check! Multiple Sclerosis awareness fanatic - Check! Total Dork - Check!

One thought on “2.23.16

  1. Life’s too short to not try to do everything less poorly. If I suck at shit, I want people to help me. I guess I better work on my Field Goal kicking. I suck at that.

Leave a Reply

