Posted in Life

Random!

I haven’t REALLY blogged in quite some time, so I thought I’d just throw out what I’m up to lately and go from there.

I’d really like to start writing again, more than 140 characters at a time, as I do on Twitter.  I’ve found I like the ability to be completely random and sexually harass celebrities.  One of my favorite things to do is to tweet the Pope a random question.  He never answers me directly, but I think he’s sending me messages via his daily postings.  For example, yesterday I asked him, “Paper or plastic?”  This morning, he tweets this:  “We must not be afraid of solidarity; rather let us make all we have and are available to God.”  So, I think about my paper or plastic question.  I think what he’s saying is that he follows whatever the person in front of him asks for at the grocery store, because whatever he’s buying is for God anyway.  He’ll sleep with a clear conscience, knowing that paper bags can be made into book covers and plastic bags can be used to pick up dog crap, so his choice is always the right one.

I really have no idea what I’m doing with my life at this point.  I don’t have any desire to enter the dating world and no time to do so if I wanted to anyway.  Being a single mom with zero family support and no one to babysit for you really cuts your dating time down to 4 days a month.  And I’m going to need time to myself and to pursue my other hobbies, such as masturbating loudly.  The only thing you’re getting with that kind of timeline is an asshole who wants random, meaningless sex.  That’s just not for me, so I figure I’ll wait another 6 years to start dating.  By that time, I probably will be so used to being alone that I’ll punch the first date in the face when he suggests anything that involves togetherness.

I received an e-mail from an aunt, who had forwarded it to me from another aunt.  It was something bitching about the “Muslim stamp” and how that’s just not acceptable.  It pissed me off, because this is just another form of religious intolerance.  I don’t see the problem with recognizing religions other than Christianity on a fucking postage stamp, or anywhere.  If that’s where your problem lies, then you may want to check yourself in to some place that specializes in discrimination and assholery.  If there’s going to be all of this fuss about postage stamps because they’re recognizing a Muslim holiday, then we better do away with Christmas and Easter stamps and the like because we’re all supposed to be on equal footing in this country, regardless of race, gender and religion.  Ideally, sexual orientation would fall into that as well, but sadly much of our country is too busy sticking their heads up their own asses to realize that gay people are citizens of this great country and absolutely should have all of the rights and privileges afforded to heterosexual couples.  I don’t even want to get started on that.  Back to the stamp.  Below is the e-mail that was sent to me.

Don’t buy this stamp! Please pass this on.
46 cent Forever Stamp – Apparently they think that putting hearts and butterflies on the new stamp will make most people not realize that the rest is Arabic and probably NOT something we want to support. The new stamp, the second MUSLIM stamp!

USPS New 46-Cent Stamp Celebrates a Muslim holiday. If there is only ONE thing you Forward today. Let it be this!

President Obama has directed the United States Postal Service to remember and honor the EID muslim holiday season with a new commemorative 46 Cent First Class Holiday Postage Stamp.

REMEMBER to adamantly and vocally BOYCOTT this stamp if/when you purchase stamps at a post office. All you have to say is, “No thank you, I do not want a Muslim stamp on my letters!”

The Flag of the USA has always been my favorite.

Pass this along to every Patriotic American you know Get the word out!
Honor the United States of America !

EXCUSE THE FUCK OUT OF ME, but if you’re honoring the United States of America, perhaps you should honor the diversity we’re supposed to support, with all of the freedoms associated with it.Never mind that the e-mail text is inaccurate as hell.  The picture of the stamp going around with this e-mail isn’t even a Muslim holiday stamp, it’s from the Kaleidoscope series, so you’re discouraging people from buying it based on false information.  Perhaps what this e-mail should really suggest is that this is what one might see when stoned, therefore buying it supports pot?  I don’t know.

kaleidoscope

This is the 44-cent stamp with the hearts and butterflies – I think it’s gorgeous.  So to the original author of the email:  the “46-cent Forever Stamp” isn’t the one with hearts and butterflies on it, asshole.

stamp1

The EID stamps are below, and again, I think they’re pretty.  One is a 42-cent stamp and the other is from 2011, so STILL not an accurate e-mail.

eidstamp2 eidstamp

If there was a current “Muslim holiday stamp”, I’d buy a shit ton of them.  I’d actually send out Christmas cards this year to my family, and guess what fucking stamp I’d put on those bad boys?  You got it!

Patriotism is fine, religious discrimination is not.  If you want to go totally hard core, the USPS shouldn’t issue any stamps that are not simply the American flag. Because maybe I don’t like Johnny Cash – after all he was in prison.  How do you celebrate that?  Maybe I’m against marriage because it’s not equal for all, so why should I buy a wedding cake stamp?    If you want to send this kind of dip-shit e-mail around, don’t send it to me.  Perhaps you should buy these stamps:

stamps

& toss out the ones that say “Equality” and “Freedom” because you sure as shit aren’t supporting those with your narrow views.
Whoa.  I didn’t realize how angry that e-mail made me until I started writing.  Anyway, fuck the haters.

Author:

Mom - Check! Multiple Sclerosis awareness fanatic - Check! Total Dork - Check!

6 thoughts on “Random!

  1. I’m just on a big dating break. Time is really an issue. Apparently, other people want it in order to have any kind of relationship at all with you. I just don’t have it. *still pedaling*

  2. We need to figure out how to trick all the closed-minded asshats to all get in one place, and then lock them in. Forever.
    Love you, princess. Keep randomly spewing angry shit, girl; you shouldn’t let it build up.

Leave a Reply

